Rock Beats

Spirit Lunch a hit

Jim Nuse and his wife DaisyYesterday’s Spirit Lunch succeeded in putting everyone in a festive mood. Band members from C.D. Fulkes Middle School provided music and La Margarita provided the food. Carol’s Creations provide the desserts. Jim Nuse, David Kautz and Cindy Demers presented the Service Awards.

Jim Nuse was given special recognition for his 25 years of service. Other 25 year honorees were John Addison, Stuart Hamilton, Janette Johnson, Becky Martinez, Tim Ryle and Alfred Tate.


The Rock Award from the Innovations Team went to the Utility Department.The Rock Award, presented by the Innovations Team, went to the Utility Department’s Pre-chlorinated Pipe-Bursting Project in Greenlawn Place. Accepting the award for the project were Don Rundell, Terrell Wilkey, Jeff Bell, Chris Spencer, and Ronnie Jean. The Utility Department was among the first in Texas to use a new process for replacing water lines that involves bursting the old pipe while installing the already treated replacement pipe. The process saved the City $387,000 and cut the project time in half compared to conventional methods.


Planning won first place in the pinata contest.The winners in the piñata contest were: 

  • Planning Department — 1st place
  • Water, Waste Water Line Maintenance and I&I — 2nd place
  • Library — 3rd place


The Adopt-a-Unit table received enough cookies to fill two large and two small mailing boxes. Forty children also found Christmas angels among our City employees. Great job!

Comments from employees
Thanks to the Team for doing a great job with the Spirit Lunch.  Good food, decorations, and all the arrangements were well thought out and went without a hitch! It was good idea about parking in the Randall’s parking lot too. It takes a lot of hard work and time to put together a big party (I know, I’ve been there). Kudos to the whole gang, we appreciate all your time, effort and hard work! — Latha Kumar


Thank you for a great Spirit Lunch. It was really fun. Good eats also. — Chris Childs 



Thanks to the Spirit Lunch committee for their great work.

Chair – Margie Howard

Co-chair – John Bader

Brooks Bennett

Rosie Cardona

Veronica Chandler

Steve Clark

Mark Edwards

Ibis Estrada

Chaz Gordon

Ted Martinez

Alan Moreno

Juli Land Place

Elaine Rodriguez

Debbie Tahiri

Rehana Vohra

Sylvia Willhite. 

Photos by Arnold Wells.